An Open Letter to Jeremy Hunt

Benefit tales

This was published on the website Empowerment, Epilepsy and Elephants on the 13th June 2013

Dear Jeremy Hunt,

I don’t know you and you don’t know me, but your name has unfortunate rhyming potential… I’ve never written to a politician…. tears are streaming down my face and my heart’s thudding in my ears…. the buck has to stop somewhere, someone must be responsible and as your fancy job title ‘Secretary of State for Health’ implies, I guess that someone is you.

Yesterday I had my first interview with ATOS, the company you’ve hired to assess disability and eligibility for benefits. I want to tell you what happened to me because – you have no idea the effort this is taking to type – because, I have a voice, I have a family and support. I am lucky, others are not and this, this thing you are doing cannot continue to…

View original post 766 more words

Leave a Reply

